SCAMS by Bnp-realty ?

Posted on February 9th, 2010 by admin

This is the return email I got after relying to a rental on craigs list, is this a scam???

Hi,

Thank you for contacting BNP Rentals. We are pleased you have taken
interest in our property for rent on CraigsList. This property has
just hit the market and is available for an immediate rental agreement
(Short or Long Term) with no deposit required.

Since we offer our properties with ‘no deposit’ required and before we
can create a contractual rental agreement, we require all applicants
to go through a simple credit check. This will verify your contact
information and current credit status. This is a completely free
service if you use our recommended company and takes about 5 minutes
to complete.

Once you receive your results from the credit check please forward
them to bnprentals@gmail.com. One our agents will contact you to
arrange a convenient time to meet and show you the property.

We suggest you get your credit check here…
http://bnp-realty.com/creditcheck.php

This is the best service and includes all the details we require. It
is also the only company that offers the service for free.

Because of the immense interest we expect to receive about this
property we cannot accept any applicants without a full credit check.
Applicants will be accepted and considered on a first come first serve
basis. Thank you for understanding.

Regards,
Michael Anderson
Sales/Rental Associate – BNP Rentals

IS THIS A SCAM??????????????????????/

They appear to be a scam.

Among the indicators: Their URL was registered just in September. Since then, their web traffic has soared. They’re using a service to hide their contact information.

It’s not clear that, despite the name, that they’re really a licensed real estate firm.

Despite their assurance that the credit check is "completely free," it isn’t. There’s an initial and monthly charge; read the fine print at the bottom of the page.

Few reputable businesses would use a gmail account as an e-mail account.

And I just don’t like the tone of the e-mail.

My advice: Steer very clear of this group.

8 Responses

  1. Thalassa Says:

    Yes they are BIG scammers, look them uo in google.. Report them to FBI!!!
    References :

  2. I Buy And Sell Houses Says:

    They appear to be a scam.

    Among the indicators: Their URL was registered just in September. Since then, their web traffic has soared. They’re using a service to hide their contact information.

    It’s not clear that, despite the name, that they’re really a licensed real estate firm.

    Despite their assurance that the credit check is "completely free," it isn’t. There’s an initial and monthly charge; read the fine print at the bottom of the page.

    Few reputable businesses would use a gmail account as an e-mail account.

    And I just don’t like the tone of the e-mail.

    My advice: Steer very clear of this group.
    References :

  3. col. Kurtz Says:

    I agree w/the above posters for their Various reasons. I’d be very leery of releasing my SS # to a… ¿Craig’s List Posting??

    Where are they based out of Nairobi? … get my drift?!
    References :

  4. meana_cherrell Says:

    I too received an email from the same company, did exactly what you did before doing anything, because it felt like it was a scam to me. Were you looking in the Maryland area or somewhere else.

    I did find out some information regarding BNP and it is called Brisbane North Properties located in Australia. Nothing here sounds legit!
    References :
    http://www.brisbanenorthproperties.com.au/

  5. mama Says:

    I got the same thing this morning, when I contacted them again and asked a question before sending my credit report, I got no reply… so I am not about to send them any personal information.
    References :

  6. tlundy3 Says:

    I think that this is a scam. Why would someone run a credit check over the internet without ever showing you the property. Imagine you’re about to giving this company ALL the information they need to steal your identity.

    It’s a scam. Don’t do it.
    References :

  7. Kristie W Says:

    I got the same message. Did you ever find out if this was a scam?? I never filled out their information. They would not tell me where the property is located.
    References :

  8. Stephanie B Says:

    I was wondering that myself–it seems a little shady! Please if anyone out there knows please let us know! Thanks!
    References :

Leave a Comment

Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

|
  • Categories

  • Pages

  • Tags

  • Archives

  • Meta

  •